[ALAC-Announce] NOW OPEN: Round 2 of At-Large Board Director Election

ICANN At-Large Staff staff at atlarge.icann.org
Fri Nov 26 09:40:48 UTC 2010

Dear All,
In accordance with the At-Large Board Director selection time-line, the
second round of the online election for the Board Director starts today and
ends on Sunday, 28 November at 2359 UTC. (see
All authorized participants - that being the members of the ALAC and the
RALO chairs - received their voting credentials by mail a couple of minutes
In accordance with Article VI, Section 4 of the ICANN Bylaws, ALAC members
Sébastien Bachollet and Alan Greenberg will not participate in this election
as they are among the final candidates. Sébastien Bachollet will be replaced
by Olivier Crépin-Leblond. However, in accordance with the NomCom rules,
Alan Greenberg cannot be replaced as he is a NomCom-selected member of the
ALAC. (see Article VI, Section 4 of ICANN Bylaws:
The complete list of eligible voters is attached below.
If you are eligible to vote and did not receive the message due to spam
filtering or for some other technical reason, you may access the poll at
this URL and login with your username and password:
Detailed information about the candidates is available under:
The question to be put will be the following:
Who should be selected as the At-Large Board Director?

PLEASE SELECT  one (1) preferred candidate.
With possible answers:
Sébastien Bachollet
Alan Greenberg
Please note this vote is a an anonymous, standard, plurality vote. It will
not be possible to see live results and who has voted so far.

Should round 2 result in a tie, the ABSdt agreed to use Excel Random Numbers
formula to identify the winner. Random Numbers formula allows a random
number to be picked out of a given total of numbers.  In the event of a tie
vote, At-Large Staff would run the Excel Random Number formula in the
presence of a member of ICANN¹s Legal team.
In the Excel Random Numbers formula, the candidates would be given the
numerical equivalent to the position of their family name in the
alphabetical order (e.g.  Sébastien Bachollet would be given the numerical
value 1 and Alan Greenberg would be given the numerical value 2.)
(See ALAC rules of procedure:
Heidi Ullrich, Matthias Langenegger, Seth Greene, Gisella Gruber-White,
Marilyn Vernon, Kristina Nordström
ICANN At-Large Staff
email: staff[at]atlarge.icann.org
website: www.atlarge.icann.org
Eligible voters (total 19):
Hawa Diakité (ALAC member)
Mohamed El Bashir (ALAC member)
Dave Kissoondoyal (NomCom-selected ALAC member)
Fatimata Seye Sylla (Chair)
Cheryl Langdon-Orr (ALAC member)
James Seng (NomCom-selected ALAC member)
Vivek Vivekanandan (ALAC member)
Hong Xue (Chair)
Olivier Crépin-Leblond (replacement for Sébastien Bachollet)
Wolf Ludwig (Chair)
Adam Peake (NomCom-selected ALAC member)
Patrick Vande Walle (ALAC member)
Carlos Aguirre (ALAC member)
Sylvia Herlein Leite (ALAC member)
Andrés Piazza (Chair)
Carlton Samuels (NomCom-selected ALAC member)
Beau Brendler (ALAC member)
Evan Leibovitch (Chair)
Gareth Shearman (ALAC member)

More information about the ALAC-Announce mailing list