[NA-Discuss] Ramping up for the election - General Procedures

Garth Bruen gbruen at knujon.com
Fri May 31 16:50:54 UTC 2013

Thank you Darlene. To strip this down to the bare bones:

Any documented NARALO member can run for office, and any NARALO member can nominate. 

As for the vote itself, each ALS has ONE vote. 

-----Original Message-----
From: na-discuss-bounces at atlarge-lists.icann.org [mailto:na-discuss-bounces at atlarge-lists.icann.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Darlene
Sent: Friday, May 31, 2013 11:37 AM
To: na-discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
Subject: [NA-Discuss] Ramping up for the election - General Procedures

Hi all,

As we will soon be having elections, I am just passing on to you some general procedures about how these are run.  Specifics on actual elections timings, positions that are available and re-election qualifications will be sent out soon.

Who can run for these positions?

Paragraph 9 of our Rules of Procedures state that:  “The candidates shall be unaffiliated individuals or members of different ALSs and must live in the region.”  So, basically, any member of any of our ALSs or individual members can run in these elections.

Who can nominate?

Our Rules of Procedures are silent on this matter but it has always been seen as good form to have a nomination and a seconder from two different organizations, however this is not a rule.  People can also run without nominations.

Who can vote?

Each active ALS in the NARALO is entitled to one vote.  As well, the individual members are entitled to one vote from their membership.  Our Rules of Procedure are clear on what makes an ALS active or not.  Paragraph 16 states:  “When an ALS representative does not vote in 3 consecutive NARALO elections or does not contribute a comment on ICANN policy through collaboration on the At-Large discussion lists in 12 consecutive months, it automatically loses its voting rights and active status within the NARALO.”  Staff is presently compiling a list of active ALSs so that we can know which have voting rights and for quorum.

If anybody has any questions, please let me know,


ᑕᓕᓐ ᑕᒻᓴᓐ
ᓄᓇᓕᖕᓂ ᖃᕆᓴᐅᔭᕐᕕᒋᔭᐅᔪᓐᓇᕐᑐᓄᑦ ᑎᑎᕋᖅᑎ
ᑮᓇᐅᔭᓕᕆᓂᕐᒧᑦ ᐊᐅᓚᑦᑎᔨᒃᑯᑦ ᐱᔨᑦᑎᕋᖅᕕᖓᑦ
ᓄᓇᕗᑦ ᒐᕙᒪᖓᑦ
ᑎᑎᖅᑲᓂᐊᕐᕕᖓ 1000, ᐊᓪᓚᕝᕕᖓ 910
ᐃᖃᓗᐃᑦ, ᓄᓇᕗᑦ
dthompson at gov.nu.ca
ᐅᖄᓚᐅᑎ: 867 975-5631
ᓱᑲᑦᑐᒃᑰᕈᑎ: 867 975-5610

Taliin Taamsan
Qaritauyani Atuqtauningitnun Titiraqtia Nunavut Kavamangat Titiraqarvia 1000, Nayugaa 910 Iqaluit, Nunavut dthompson at gov.nu.ca Hivayautik : 867 975-5631 Kayumiktuk : 867 975-5610

Darlene Thompson
Community Access Program Administrator/N-CAP Corporate Services Division Department of Education Government of Nunavut PO Box 1000, Station 910 Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0 dthompson at gov.nu.ca
Ph:   867 975-5631
Fax: 867 975-5610

Darlene Thompson
Administratrice du programme d’accès communautaire Division des services ministériels Ministère de l’Éducation Gouvernement du Nunavut Case postale 1000, Succursale 910 Iqaluit Nunavut, X0A 0H0 dthompson at gov.nu.ca Tél. : 867 975-5631 Téléc. : 867 975-5610

NA-Discuss mailing list
NA-Discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org

Visit the NARALO online at http://www.naralo.org

More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list