[NA-Discuss] NOW OPEN: Nominations for At-Large Delegates to the 2014 NomCom

Jean Polly netmom at gmail.com
Tue May 28 11:18:16 UTC 2013

I second Eric's nomination.

(Even though he left me off the nomcom- appointed ALAC list LOL. But I was appointed to the interim ALAC and that is probably why!)

Jean Armour Polly

On May 27, 2013, at 7:12 PM, Eric Brunner-Williams wrote:

> Dear Colleagues,
> I would recommend the incumbent, Glenn McKnight, be re-appointed as
> the North American regional At-Large Delegate to the 2014 Nominating
> Committee (NomCom). The reports from the NomCom to the NA-Discuss list
> during his tenure have been excellent.
> However he is term-limited out and no longer eligible.
> I know from others who have served on the NomCom that the evaluation
> of the candidates for selection to the Board, the GNSO, CCNSO, and
> ALAC is time consuming. I also know from those same individuals that
> the members of the NomCom, year after year, diligently execute the
> responsibility of finding the better choices for the open positions.
> Board members who have been selected by the Nominating Committee
> include: Vint Cerf, Susan Crawford, Hagen Hultzsch, Joichi Ito, Veni
> Markovski, Hualin Qian, Njeri Rionge, Vanda Scartezini, 2007: Harald
> Alvastrand, Dennis Jennings, Jean-Jack Subrenat, Steve Crocker, Katim
> Touray, Rajasekar Ramaraj (2nd term), George Sadowsky, Cherine
> Chalaby, Bertrand de La Chapelle, Erika Mann, Steve Crocker, Judith
> Vasquez, Olga Madruga-Forti, Gonzalo Navarro, and George Sadowsky (2nd
> term).
> ccNSO Council members who have been selected by the Nominating
> Committee include: Becky Burr, Nashwa Abdel-Baki, Jian Zhang, Sokol
> Haxhiu, Hong Xue, and Mary Wong.
> GNSO Council members who have been selected by the Nominating
> Committee include: Jon Bing, Avri Doria, Olga Cavalli, Terry Davis,
> Olga Cavalli (2nd term), Andrey Kolesnikov, Carlos Dionisio Aguirre,
> Lanre Ajayi, Thomas Rickert, Jennifer Wolfe.
> ALAC members who have been selected by the Nominating Committee
> include: Alan Greenberg, Annette Muehlerg, Vanda Scartezini, Fatimata
> Seye Sylla, Nguyen Thu Hue, Alan Greeberg, Adam Peake, Jame Seng,
> Carlton Samuels, Dave Kissoondoyal, Sebastian Bachollet, Marc
> Rotenberg, Ganesh Kumar, Titi Akinsanmi, Rinalia Abdul Rahim, Carlton
> Samueles (2nd term), Alan Greenberg (2nd term), and Jean-Jacques Subrenat.
> This record of selecting talented and dedicated people to serve in
> positions of responsibility impresses me, and I'd like to contribute
> to it. Michael Froomkin suggested I submit a SOI for a NomCom position
> in 2006, and that caused me to re-examine my cynicism after the failed
> .NET redelegation as to the ability to improve an organization that
> seemed then to me to be captured by industry. As I have for many of
> the years subsequent to Michael's suggestion, I've a SOI -- an offer
> to serve where needed -- before the 2013 NomCom.
> I offer to serve on the 2014 NomCom, and ask for nominations, knowing
> full well the time required and the professional responsibility
> selection will certainly entail, and the confidentiality required.
> Sincerely,
> Eric Brunner-Williams
> Eugene, Oregon
> ------
> NA-Discuss mailing list
> NA-Discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
> https://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/na-discuss
> Visit the NARALO online at http://www.naralo.org
> ------

More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list