[NA-Discuss] Shared Hosting vs VPS: How safe is your website

Eduardo Diaz eduardodiazrivera at gmail.com
Wed Feb 6 13:06:01 UTC 2013

You can also use services like rackspace, amazon and others that will allow
you to own your own server and do anything you want to do there.


On Wed, Feb 6, 2013 at 8:52 AM, Glenn McKnight <mcknight.glenn at gmail.com>wrote:

> Hi All
> Recently I setup the ISOC  Canada  WordPress site at a  Shared Hosting
>  website due to price but  upon research and discussion with Joly and
> others  I discovered that  Shared hosting  opens your  site to potential
> hacking.  Research revealed that the site is shared with 3,500  others.
> Here is some research on the risk
> http://www.epicwinhosting.com/blog/is-shared-hosting-secure/
> *Question:  Is it worth the difference?*
> Secondly,
> Upon discussion with the hosting company they don't have a VPS service to
> upgrade the account.
> Thirdly
> When I did a  WHOIS on the name  this was the first thing I found. No
> response yet from the hosting company, Ticketed the item with their support
> on this issue as well.  Almost feel  hostage.
>  Name FastDomain Inc. (R1455-LROR) StatusADDPERIOD, CLIENT TRANSFER
> Fourth
> In conversation with  Joly he recommeded  a  VPS  site  called GANDI for
> more secure hosting
> https://www.gandi.net/domain/buy/result/
> Also I found  gatorhosting.com   as well
> Glenn
> Glenn McKnight
> mcknight.glenn at gmail.com
> skype  gmcknight
> twitter gmcknight
> Http://www.globalcatalysts.com
> http://newsocialmedia.wordpress.com
> ------
> NA-Discuss mailing list
> NA-Discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
> https://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/na-discuss
> Visit the NARALO online at http://www.naralo.org
> ------

*NOTICE:* This email may contain information which is confidential and/or
subject to legal privilege, and is intended for the use of the named
addressee only. If you are not the intended recipient, you must not use,
disclose or copy any part of this email. If you have received this email by
mistake, please notify the sender and delete this message immediately.

More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list