[NA-Discuss] OnlineNic's real address

Brendler, Beau Brenbe at consumer.org
Sat Jan 3 17:26:00 EST 2009


pretty easy system to game -- has ICANN done anything about this? How can you be an accredited registrar and not list a legitimate physical address as your primary place of doing business?
________________________________________
From: na-discuss-bounces at atlarge-lists.icann.org [na-discuss-bounces at atlarge-lists.icann.org] On Behalf Of Danny Younger [dannyyounger at yahoo.com]
Sent: Friday, January 02, 2009 12:27 PM
To: na-discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
Cc: ga at gnso.icann.org
Subject: [NA-Discuss] OnlineNic's real address

Cybersquatting registrar OnlineNic has gone out of its way to hide its primary business address.  On ICANN's list of accredited registrars it only posts this info:

Carrie Arden Tel: 510-769-8492

Google's residential phonebook shows this phone number registered to:
Rex Liu  2251 Mosley Ave,Alameda, CA 94501

Rex is cited as an onlinenic technical contact here:  http://www.ratite.com/whois/whois.cgi?domain=registrar+ONLINENIC.
Hint:  note the large number of Xiamen, China phone numbers

Meanwhile, OnlineNic's support page provides a mailing address at
351 Embarcadero E.
Oakland, CA 94606

Unfortunately, their office isn't there either -- for an investigative report (complete with pictures) see
http://dotsnews.com/domain-name-news/184

So where is their primary place of business?  See the link below:

http://www.icann.org/en/tlds/pro1/pdf/rop_exhibit_a5.pdf






------
NA-Discuss mailing list
NA-Discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/na-discuss_atlarge-lists.icann.org

Visit the NARALO online at http://www.naralo.org
------

***
Scanned

**
This e-mail message is intended only for the designated recipient(s) named above. The information contained in this e-mail and any attachments may be confidential or legally privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, you may not review, retain, copy, redistribute or use this e-mail or any attachment for any purpose, or disclose all or any part of its contents.  If you have received this e-mail in error, please immediately notify the sender by reply e-mail and permanently delete this e-mail and any attachments from your computer system.



More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list