[NA-Discuss] I find this to be very annoying

Danny Younger dannyyounger at yahoo.com
Mon Mar 10 08:18:06 EDT 2008


Gareth,

In the United States we had problems with an
Ontario-based firm that operated under the name Domain
Registry of America, Inc.  Federal Trade Commission
action was taken -- see
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm

What you have documented is likely your local
equivalent.  DROC is a domain name reseller.  They use
eNom as a primary accredited registrar.  For one view
on eNom's attitude toward the rights of the general
public see this recent post:

http://wikileaks.org/wiki/WIKILEAKS.INFO_censored_by_eNom_and_Demand_Media

regards,
Danny


--- Gareth Shearman <shearman at victoria.tc.ca> wrote:

> I don't suppose it is illegal, but if you look them
> up on Google, you  
> will find them labelled as a scam.
> 
> One of our customers brought the attached to us when
> he came in to pay  
> for another year's service.  It is designed in a
> very sneaky way to  
> look like an official communication.  Apparently
> there is a US  
> counterpart to this company.
> 
> Have any of the rest of you come across this group?
> 
> Thanks,
> Gareth
> > 
> 
> 
> 
> > ------
> NA-Discuss mailing list
> NA-Discuss at atlarge-lists.icann.org
>
http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/na-discuss_atlarge-lists.icann.org
> Visit the NA-RALO Wiki at
> https://st.icann.org/naralo/
> ------



      ____________________________________________________________________________________
Be a better friend, newshound, and 
know-it-all with Yahoo! Mobile.  Try it now.  http://mobile.yahoo.com/;_ylt=Ahu06i62sR8HDtDypao8Wcj9tAcJ 




More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list