[NA-Discuss] Another Cybersquatting Registrar

WWWhatsup joly at punkcast.com
Fri Dec 26 19:11:42 EST 2008


>


The OnlineNIC story was also in yesterday's NY Times.
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/25/technology/companies/25verizon.html

from the article:

        OnlineNic registered more than 900,000 domain names
        similar to some of the world’s biggest companies,
        including Google, Adidas, the News Corporation’s MySpace,
        Wal-Mart Stores and Yahoo, Verizon said in court papers.
        Verizon accused OnlineNic of using an automated process to
        register the addresses and employing “numerous means to
        conceal its true identity.”

        OnlineNic’s Web site says the company has been an
        accredited registrar since 1996 for the Internet
        Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, or Icann, the
        organization that oversees the functioning of the
        Internet.

        OnlineNic did not immediately respond to e-mail messages
        seeking comment. Directory assistance could not provide a
        number for the company. No lawyers for the company were
        listed on the court docket.



j


At 03:40 PM 12/25/2008, Danny wrote:
ICANN accredited registrar OnlineNIC "unlawfully registered at least 663 domain names that were either identical to or confusingly similar to Verizon trademarks".  A federal court in the Northern District of California calculated an award based on $50,000 per domain name and awarded Verizon $33.15 million. 




Joly MacFie 
212 608 1334
http://wwwhatsup.com
http://punkcast.com  
http://pinstand.com 




More information about the NA-Discuss mailing list