[lac-discuss-en] LACRALO Secretariat Election

Andrés Piazza andrespiazza at gmail.com
Wed Apr 6 21:19:43 UTC 2011

(Versión en Español en un correo separado)

Dear All,

The online vote to elect the LACRALO Secretariat began on Monday 28
March 2011 with two candidates :

* The current secretariat, Dev Anand Teelucksingh from Trinidad and
Tobago Computer Society (TTCS)
* Antonio Medina Gomez from Asociacion Colombiana de Usuarios de Internet

On Thursday March 31 2011, Antonio Medina Gomez withdrew his
candidacy for the LACRALO Secretariat, leaving only one candidate for the
LACRALO secretariat position.

Given that the vote had already started, a review of the LACRALO
Organising Documents
(https://community.icann.org/x/Oo0i) was done to determine the
appropriate next steps.

In the interests of maintaining the integrity of the election process,
the election for the LACRALO secretariat WILL continue.

Given there is now one candidate, voters can choose either the sole

- Dev Anand Teelucksingh from Trinidad and Tobago Computer Society (TTCS)

OR to abstain.

Since LACRALO is conducting a virtual General Assembly for this
election (meaning all 36 ALSes in LACRALO are present and voting), as
per Rules 12.2 and 19 of LACRALO Rules of Procedures, at least 19
ALSes MUST vote for the sole candidate for the results to be quorate
since ALSes abstaining from voting shall be regarded as having not

Due to the deliberations, the deadline for the election of the LACRALO
Secretariat has been extended to Tuesday April 12 2011 at 23:59 UTC and the
7 existing votes will be erased. Staff will send again the voting
credentials promptly to every Representative of each ALS.


Andrés Piazza

*Andrés Piazza*

More information about the lac-discuss-en mailing list