[EURO-Discuss] Result of EURALO ALAC Representative Elections for 2008

Nick Ashton-Hart Nick.Ashton-Hart at icann.org
Wed Sep 3 01:48:52 EDT 2008

Dear EURALO Members:

It is my honour to provide the results of the 2008 EURALO Elections to fill the open ALAC seat vacated by Veronica Cretu, and the seat currently occupied by Sebastien Bachollet which was up for election.

Full information about the election procedures and candidatures may be found at http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/pipermail/euro-discuss_atlarge-lists.icann.org/2008-August/001200.html. Some election procedures were amended by the Chair for technical reasons; that information may be found at: http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/pipermail/euro-discuss_atlarge-lists.icann.org/2008-August/001202.html Note that the fourth candidate, Adela Danciu, declined to run due to work commitments prior to the vote being opened.

Of the 24 authorised ALS representatives entitled to vote, 18 cast a vote, representing 75% participation.

The candidate finishing in first place, Sebastien Bachollet, will therefore take the two-year seat, commencing at the closing of the ICANN AGM in Cairo on 7th November and concluding at the close of the ICANN AGM in 2010.

The candidate finishing in second place, Patrick Vande Walle, will join the ALAC with immediate effect to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Veronica Cretu, and will serve until the closing of the ICANN AGM in 2009.

Independent verification of the voting results may be found on the BigPulse servers, which is the third-party, secured voting system used for conduct of this vote (and all others in the At-Large community). A direct link to the vote results may be found at the following URL: https://www.bigpulse.com/pollresults?code=izyqasVfrAgfGW9rKwE9

The Staff would like to congratulate Sebastien and Patrick and thank Lutz for his candidacy. Without volunteers willing to spend their free time and energy in leadership roles like these three gentlemen, the ICANN multi-stakeholder model simply would not work and we are grateful to have had three such excellent candidates who were williing to serve.


Nick Ashton-Hart
Director for At-Large
Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)
Main Tel: +33 (450) 40 46 88
USA DD: +1 (310) 578-8637
Fax: +41 (22) 594-85-44
Mobile: +41 (79) 595 54-68
email: nick.ashton-hart at icann.org
Win IM: ashtonhart at hotmail.com / AIM/iSight: nashtonhart at mac.com / Skype: nashtonhart
Online Bio:  https://www.linkedin.com/in/ashtonhart

More information about the EURO-Discuss mailing list