[At-Large] German school students victims of dutch drug trafficker TLD scam

Joe Baptista baptista at publicroot.org
Mon Sep 21 10:02:50 CDT 2009


German school students victims of dutch drug trafficker TLD scam
http://bit.ly/LfCq7

I wonder - could ICANN and IANA have done more to prevent this?

German high school students recent victims of dutch drug
trafficker<http://joebaptista.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/german-high-school-students-recent-victims-of-dutch-drug-trafficker/>

*September 21, 2009*<http://joebaptista.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?action=edit&post=421>
[image: Dr. Hans-Jorg Däumer, Principle of Gymnasium Querfurt]

Dr. Hans-Jorg Däumer, Principle of Gymnasium Querfurt

German high school students at the Gymnasium Querfurt are the recent victims
of a Top-Level Domain (TLD) sales scam run by Dutch con artist Herman
Xennt<http://joebaptista.wordpress.com/2009/06/07/herman-johan-xennt/>.
Herman known to the Netherlands police is a convicted felon who was arrested
for drug trafficking and tax evasion.

Administration at the school, one of Germany’s top ten high schools,
confirmed today they are an INAIC approved reseller of Top-Level Domains
(TLDs). The press release
<http://inaic.com/index.php?p=news-01-06-2009>dated July 1 but
published September 16 announced the distinguished German
high school, recognized by the German government as one of the best in the
country, launched GQnet.

The school joins an impressive list of organizations on the INAIC victims
list. Both the Government of Turkey and SITA (Societe Internationale de
Telecommunications Aeronautique) participated in marketing stolen property
through INAIC. In these cases the intellectual property rights to top-level
domains sold by INAIC are part of a commercial fraud involving former
partners of Herman Xennt and the Top Level Domain
Association<http://www.tldainc.org/>,
another front for the organization.

*Innocence exposed “You can trust me … this organization exists”?*
[image: Christopher Mettin, Student Network Administrator at the Gymnasium
Querfurt]

Christopher Mettin, Student Network Administrator at the Gymnasium Querfurt

Christopher Mettin the schools 18 year old student network administrator
runs the GQnet <http://tld.gqbc-online.com/> student project for the Gymnasium
Querfurt <http://www.gymnasium-querfurt.de/>. Mettin insists the INAIC
organization is not a scam. “You can trust me”, he said “this organization
exists”. When pressed for details on the organizations head office address
or it’s jurisdiction of incorporation Mettin was unable to answer but did
confirm his contact at INAIC was Herman Xennt.

Martijn Burger the official chairman of the Internet Names Authorization &
Information Center (the real INAIC) issued an official statement on December
3 2008<http://www.cynikal.net/users/baptista/images/INAIC-Statement-December-3-2008-1.pdf>that
the organization behind INAIC.com has never been operational.

When presented with the statement Mettin responded he did “not really care
whether the address was correct or” where “INAIC is incorporated”. He
insisted instead that if the technical aspects of the system worked that was
all the credibility he and the school needed. “The TLD’s resolve and that’s
what counts” he said as proof INAIC is legitimate.

According to Mettin school administration were aware of the scandal and he
did not rule out legal action. Dr. Hans-Jorg Däumer, the school Principle,
was away from his office this week and unavailable for comment.

*Identity theft – could the Gymnasium Querfurt be next?*
[image: Keith Teare, former CEO, President, and Chairman of RealNames
Corporation]

Keith Teare, former CEO, President, and Chairman of RealNames Corporation

In a related story INAIC TLD reseller VAGUE is claiming the Irish
company<http://tld.webvague.com/>is associated with Keith
Teare <http://www.linkedin.com/in/kteare> the well known founder of
RealNames a $130 million Microsoft project. Teare denied RealNames has
anything to do with the reseller. “I just read the various sites”, Teare
said, “looks like a major scam”.

Teare is not alone in having his identity stolen to sell bogus TLDs. At
INAIC identity theft and brand name piracy is a common practice used as a
marketing tool to look legitimate. The legal departments of major
multinational corporations like Hilton Hotels, Akzo-Nobel, KFC and Philips
Electronics have all threatened legal action against INAIC to protect their
identities and brand names.

*Xennt – the wizard behind the curtain.*

Herman Xennt the man behind INAIC first came to public attention in 2002 as
the man behind the XTC bunker. The “bunker” is a former NATO base built in
1955. In 1995 Herman purchased the facility from the dutch government and
installed himself as a constitutional
monarch<http://www.republic-cyberbunker.org/>.
He also installed an XTC lab to manufacture the psychoactive and psychedelic
drugs ecstasy and MDMA.

On Saturday July 27th 2002 the XTC lab went up in flames and the dutch fire
brigade was called. This prompted a police investigation into the XTC lab
and Xennt was arrested the next day for drug trafficking. Herman became an
infamous local celebrity overnight and was widely reported in the local
papers.

But at the local police station in the City of Goes Herman is best known as
a commercial fraud artist. Adriaan Capello is the police officer who keeps
an eye on Herman. Capello has an impressive file of complaints from people
swindled by Xennt in various technology investment schemes.

Capello points out there is nothing the local police can do. Capello tries
his best to investigate but in the end the police don’t have the time,
resources, or expertise to investigate commercial crime involving high
technology fraud and the cases end up in limbo.


-- 
Joe Baptista

www.publicroot.org
PublicRoot Consortium
----------------------------------------------------------------
The future of the Internet is Open, Transparent, Inclusive, Representative &
Accountable to the Internet community @large.
----------------------------------------------------------------
  Office: +1 (360) 526-6077 (extension 052)
     Fax: +1 (509) 479-0084

Personal: www.joebaptista.wordpress.com

-- 
Joe Baptista

www.publicroot.org
PublicRoot Consortium
----------------------------------------------------------------
The future of the Internet is Open, Transparent, Inclusive, Representative &
Accountable to the Internet community @large.
----------------------------------------------------------------
  Office: +1 (360) 526-6077 (extension 052)
     Fax: +1 (509) 479-0084

Personal: www.joebaptista.wordpress.com


More information about the At-Large mailing list