[At-Large] OFFLIST Re: Unethical domain reseller again

Michele Neylon :: Blacknight michele at blacknight.ie
Thu Jul 16 04:43:02 CDT 2009


*sigh*

And of course that wasn't offlist :)

More coffee needed !

On 16 Jul 2009, at 10:40, Michele Neylon :: Blacknight wrote:

> I've reported a few of the .asia ones to the registry's senior staff.
> They assured me they were looking into them (can't remember which ones
> they were though ..)
>
>
> On 13 Jul 2009, at 15:56, Derek Smythe wrote:
>
>> Hi All
>>
>> A domain scam attempt sent to an anti-scam website :)
>> http://www.bobbear.co.uk/worldwide-network.html
>>
>> I thought this nonsense was resolved some time ago, but apparently
>> not.
>>
>> I wonder if Godaddy will tolerate this type of behavior from parties
>> abusing their hosting?  I wonder if they actually do sell domains,  
>> and
>> if so via which ICANN accredited registrar? Or do they just take your
>> money and run?
>>
>> Other hits on the same scam attempts include:
>> http://blog.commtouch.com/cafe/spam-favorites/is-raymond-marcus-buying-your-domains-too/
>>
>> http://www.eset.com/threat-center/blog/?p=648
>> http://www.norman.com/security_center/blog/righard_zwienenberg/67146/
>> es
>> http://www.norman.com/security_center/blog/righard_zwienenberg/67154/
>> en
>>
>> However digging deeper shows a name change and even more history of
>> this type of abuse.
>>
>> Take a guess what will happen with all the new gTLD's coming along?
>> How long before ICANN will receive a spam scam regarding some
>> fictitious character trying to register icann.whatever?
>>
>> Operators with these unscrupulous ethics do not belong anywhere  
>> near a
>> domain reseller account.
>>
>>
>> Regards
>>
>> Derek
>>
>>
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> At-Large mailing list
>> At-Large at atlarge-lists.icann.org
>> http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/at-large_atlarge-lists.icann.org
>>
>> At-Large Official Site: http://atlarge.icann.org
>
> Mr Michele Neylon
> Blacknight Solutions
> Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
> http://www.blacknight.com/
> http://blog.blacknight.com/
> http://mneylon.tel
> Intl. +353 (0) 59  9183072
> US: 213-233-1612
> UK: 0844 484 9361
> Locall: 1850 929 929
> Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
> Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
> -------------------------------
> Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business
> Park,Sleaty
> Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland  Company No.: 370845
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> At-Large mailing list
> At-Large at atlarge-lists.icann.org
> http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/at-large_atlarge-lists.icann.org
>
> At-Large Official Site: http://atlarge.icann.org

Mr Michele Neylon
Blacknight Solutions
Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
http://www.blacknight.com/
http://blog.blacknight.com/
http://mneylon.tel
Intl. +353 (0) 59  9183072
US: 213-233-1612
UK: 0844 484 9361
Locall: 1850 929 929
Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
-------------------------------
Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business  
Park,Sleaty
Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland  Company No.: 370845




More information about the At-Large mailing list