[At-Large] OFFLIST Re: Unethical domain reseller again
Michele Neylon :: Blacknight
michele at blacknight.ie
Thu Jul 16 04:40:09 CDT 2009
I've reported a few of the .asia ones to the registry's senior staff.
They assured me they were looking into them (can't remember which ones
they were though ..)
On 13 Jul 2009, at 15:56, Derek Smythe wrote:
> Hi All
>
> A domain scam attempt sent to an anti-scam website :)
> http://www.bobbear.co.uk/worldwide-network.html
>
> I thought this nonsense was resolved some time ago, but apparently
> not.
>
> I wonder if Godaddy will tolerate this type of behavior from parties
> abusing their hosting? I wonder if they actually do sell domains, and
> if so via which ICANN accredited registrar? Or do they just take your
> money and run?
>
> Other hits on the same scam attempts include:
> http://blog.commtouch.com/cafe/spam-favorites/is-raymond-marcus-buying-your-domains-too/
>
> http://www.eset.com/threat-center/blog/?p=648
> http://www.norman.com/security_center/blog/righard_zwienenberg/67146/
> es
> http://www.norman.com/security_center/blog/righard_zwienenberg/67154/
> en
>
> However digging deeper shows a name change and even more history of
> this type of abuse.
>
> Take a guess what will happen with all the new gTLD's coming along?
> How long before ICANN will receive a spam scam regarding some
> fictitious character trying to register icann.whatever?
>
> Operators with these unscrupulous ethics do not belong anywhere near a
> domain reseller account.
>
>
> Regards
>
> Derek
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> At-Large mailing list
> At-Large at atlarge-lists.icann.org
> http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/at-large_atlarge-lists.icann.org
>
> At-Large Official Site: http://atlarge.icann.org
Mr Michele Neylon
Blacknight Solutions
Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
http://www.blacknight.com/
http://blog.blacknight.com/
http://mneylon.tel
Intl. +353 (0) 59 9183072
US: 213-233-1612
UK: 0844 484 9361
Locall: 1850 929 929
Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
-------------------------------
Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business
Park,Sleaty
Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland Company No.: 370845
More information about the At-Large
mailing list