[At-Large] Where is the promised Comprehensive Review of ICANN Accreditation Processes?

Michele Neylon :: Blacknight michele at blacknight.ie
Thu Sep 4 12:14:02 EDT 2008


On 4 Sep 2008, at 14:03, Danny Younger wrote:

> Source:  http://www.knujon.com/news.html
>
> Phantom Registrars
>
> In investigating the 48 Directi-owned Registrars with questionable  
> locations, we reported facts. The address used by many of these  
> Registrars: "14525 SW Millikan Way Beaverton, OR 97005-2343" is the  
> address of a mail forwarding service called Earthclassmail.  
> According to Directi, the listed companies are registered in  
> Delaware, but not in Oregon or New York as listed in the ICANN  
> Directory. Directi is headquartered in Mumbai, India. KnujOn feels  
> that any company given so much responsibility over the Internet  
> should fully disclose where they are located, but this is apparently  
> not an ICANN requirement.
>
> Indeed, Stacy Burnette, director of contractual compliance at ICANN,  
> said the organization is satisfied the registrars are incorporated  
> in the location listed in their application. Telephone numbers in  
> the contact information need not correspond to the location of  
> incorporation, she said. ICANN doesn't require registrars to  
> publicly disclose their place of incorporation.
>
> To which KnujOn says: Huh? So, as the expression goes, don't hate  
> the player hate the game. Directi merely acquired these  
> accreditations by ICANN's own rules. Summary: One address in the  
> application, a second address disclosed to the public. Read this  
> line again: "ICANN doesn't require registrars to publicly disclose  
> their place of incorporation." How does this figure into ICANN's  
> mission to be an open and transparent organization? "Telephone  
> numbers in the contact information need not correspond to the  
> location of incorporation". How can there be any accountability?  
> This situation is upside-down. Registrants are required to list  
> their valid contact information, but the Registrars who sponsor  
> their domains are not.

Maybe this is more of a topic for the RAA WG?



Mr Michele Neylon
Blacknight Solutions
Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
http://www.blacknight.com/
http://blog.blacknight.com/
Intl. +353 (0) 59  9183072
US: 213-233-1612
UK: 0844 484 9361
Locall: 1850 929 929
Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
-------------------------------
Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business  
Park,Sleaty
Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland  Company No.: 370845




More information about the At-Large mailing list