[ALAC] Fwd: NGPC-ALAC subgroup to discuss Cat 1, Safeguard 1-8 TLDs

León Felipe Sánchez Ambía leonfelipe at sanchez.mx
Tue Jan 6 03:34:41 UTC 2015


Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for this update. I see that we have a great team representing the ALAC. Of course, should there be need to reinforce the team, you can count on me.

Best regards,


León
> El 05/01/2015, a las 16:14, Alan Greenberg <alan.greenberg at mcgill.ca> escribió:
> 
> You will recall that in reply to the Advice that we gave the Board in October regarding Public Interest Commitments (http://www.atlarge.icann.org/correspondence/statement-public-interest-comments-16oct14-en.pdf), we received an invitation to convened a small subgroup of ALAC and NGPC members to further discuss the issue (https://www.icann.org/en/system/files/correspondence/chalaby-to-greenberg-19dec14-en.pdf).
> 
> In reply to this request, I have sent the message below.
> 
> The group was chosen to include those who have been most active on our earlier discussions and comments regarding PICs, and includes Cheryl as our GNSO Liaison (as noted in the letter, a possible GNSO policy development process is one of the outcomes that will be considered).
> 
> Alan
> 
> 
> 
>> To: Cherine Chalaby <cherine.chalaby at icann.org>
>> From: Alan Greenberg <alan.greenberg at mcgill.ca>
>> Subject: NGPC-ALAC subgroup to discuss Cat 1, Safeguard 1-8 TLDs
>> Cc: Rinalia Abdul Rahim <rinalia.abdulrahim at gmail.com>, Michelle Bright <michelle.bright at icann.org>, Megan Bishop <megan.bishop at icann.org>, At-Large Staff <staff at atlarge.icann.org>
>> 
>> Dear Cherine,
>> 
>> Thank you for your letter of December 19 December 2014.
>> 
>> The ALAC would be pleased to engage with a subgroup of the NGPC.
>> 
>> I believe that this is the first time that such an ALAC-Board discussion has been proposed to address an issue of mutual interest, and as such, we will do our best to ensure that we have a useful exchange and that we can use this as a model for future engagements.
>> 
>> The ALAC will be represented by:
>> 
>> - Alan Greenberg
>> - Olivier Crépon-Leblond
>> - Cheryl Langdon-Orr
>> - Evan Leibovitch
>> - Holly Raiche
>> 
>> As you know, the ALAC has been expressing a variety of concerns over PICs and their enforcement since they were first introduced. The strings associated with GAC Category 1, Safeguards 1-8 are of particular importance to us, as they may have direct and possibly onerous impact on end-users. We look forward to finding an acceptable path forwards to address this concern.
>> 
>> Warm regards and best wishes for 2015,
>> 
>> Alan
> 
> _______________________________________________
> ALAC mailing list
> ALAC at atlarge-lists.icann.org
> https://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/alac
> 
> At-Large Online: http://www.atlarge.icann.org
> ALAC Working Wiki: https://community.icann.org/display/atlarge/At-Large+Advisory+Committee+(ALAC)



More information about the ALAC mailing list